ECE Andy Award nominees


September 17, 2015

The Andy Awards, named for Andrew Carnegie and Andrew Mellon, are a tribute to the spirit of teamwork and dedication embodied by the staff at Carnegie Mellon University. Individual staff members and teams of colleagues whose work has had a significant impact on the university are recognized for their outstanding performance and commitment to excellence through the Andy Awards program.

Awards will be given in five categories: Commitment to Excellence, Commitment to Students, Innovative and Creative Contributions, Spirit, and Teamwork and Collaboration. 

The Andy Awards ceremony will take place Monday, September 21 at 12:00 p.m. in McConomy Auditorium. A reception will immediately follow in Rangos Hall, second floor, Cohon University Center.

Commitment to students

This award honors staff members who are dedicated to guiding and assisting Carnegie Mellon students. They surpass the duties of their job description to meet students' needs, serving as role models who display a positive and professional image at all times.

wendy fong

Wendy Fong, Information Networking Institute

Wendy has an incredible spirit of giving and takes every opportunity to go above and beyond for the INI students in Silicon Valley. She has contributed to INI's amazing 100% placement rate by always going out of her way to assist students in pursuing their dreams. Wendy embraces all students with the same caring, positive attitude and thus, uplifts them with her contagious energy, making those around her smile. She is at every student event and goes above and beyond to ensure the students have a good and worthwhile experience. Wendy’s love of her job is apparent by the positivity and light she brings to the Silicon Valley campus.

janet peters

Janet Peters, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Janet fosters the intellectual, social and personal development of each and every student she counsels. She advises students in the College of Engineering with flawless knowledge of school curriculum and extracurricular activities. She is proactive and reaches out to her students to catch up and make sure everything is going well, which shows a thoughtfulness that goes beyond what is expected. One student stated, “My interactions with Janet provided me with confidence, knowing that my journey at Carnegie Mellon University would be a successful one because I had her support.”


Teamwork and collaboration

The team category is open to any group of two or more people, either in a shared department or interdisciplinary unit/taskforce, who have worked together toward a common goal.

This award honors staff teams who exemplify collaboration and cooperation with colleagues, students and the university community and recognizes its transformative impact. The team has developed new approaches, methods and systems to improve organizational effectiveness or has improved the student experience and/or student's learning opportunities. It has demonstrated imagination and creativity in solving problems or fostering change that benefits the university community.

cit pre-award process

CIT Pre-Award Process Standardization Team, College of Engineering

Front row, from left to right: Angela Pusateri, Beth Hockenberry (HNZ 2015), David DeLo (E 1982, 1994, 1996; TPR 1984) and Tonya Bordonaro (HNZ 2015)
Back row, from left to right: Anita Connelly, Barbara Bugosh, Meighan Harding, Charlotte Ambrass (HNZ 2015), Michael Balderson (A 2005; HNZ 2015), Nathan Kotecki(HNZ 2015), Cathy Schaefer and Melissa Hyzy (HNZ 2015)
Not pictured: Keri Baker and Anissa Greenfield

The College of Engineering’s Pre-Award Process Standardization project successfully streamlined the preparation and submission of proposals, as well as the general administration of research at the level of individual laboratories, within departments and across the college. This standardization project has played a significant role in increasing the quality of proposals that are submitted on behalf of the university to external sponsors, while decreasing the administrative burden for research faculty. Although there are clearly seen benefits by central units, particularly by those in the pre-award office, the benefits that will be gleaned from the work performed by this team will be felt by these offices for many 

ECE web team

ECE Web Team, Electrical and Computer Engineering

In order from left to right: Chad Hilton, Dave Decker, Steve Elgersma and Aydaen Lynch

The ECE Web Team showed outstanding ability in working as a team to support the collaborative mission in the launch of a new online promotion, reappointment and tenure system. The team worked tirelessly under tight deadlines to build an application to web-enable and automate the traditionally manual process, including the collection and organization of hundreds of supporting documents. They were able to consider multiple perspectives in building this system through cooperation, collaboration and open communication. From the very beginning, the ECE Web Team donned the can-do attitude and created a detailed plan to attain the goals of the project. Their efforts as a group amplify their individual contributions through collaboration with each other and those they serve.